1. Putrajaya

Putrajaya is a plannes city, 25 km south of Kuala Lumpur, that serves as the federal administrative centre of Malaysia. The seat of government was shifted in 1999 from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya, due to overcrowding and congestion in the Kuala Lumpur area. Nevertheless, Kuala Lumpur remains Malaysia's national capital, being the seat of the King and Parliment, as well as the country's commercial and financial centre. Putrajaya was the brainchild of former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad. In 2001, Putrajaya became Malaysia's third Federal Territory after Kuala Lumpur and Labuan. Named after the first Malaysian Prime Minister, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra, the city is within the Multimedia Super Corridor, beside the recently developed Cyberjaya. In Sanskrit, "putra" means "prince" or "male child", and "jaya" means "success" or "victory". The development of Putrajaya started in early 1990s, and today major landmarks have been completed and the population is expected to grow in the near future.


   2. Time Zone

Time zone of Malaysia is UTC/GMT +8 hours.


   3. Electricity

The supply voltage in Malaysia is 230/240 volts 50 Hz and uses the British Standard BS 1363 domestic AC power plugs.


   4. Current Exhange

Exchange rate of the Central Bank of Malaysia (As per 13 January 2016)

1 USD - MYR 4.39

1 MYR = USD 0.23


   5. Smoking

Smoking is prohibited in designated public areas.